Back from the road…

In case you were wondering where I’ve disappeared to, I’ve been traveling for most of the past 6 weeks. There’s a lot to catch up on, not to mention finishing writing about my Astana trip. To hold you over here are some pictures of students watching the solar eclipse on August 1st. They came up with an inventive solution: using an old fashioned 3.5″ disk to view it. It didn’t get quite so dark, more like an eerie dimness, but it was still a fun event.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Good to see you back. I heard some Kazakhs mis-understood the 3.5″ floppy trick, and actually stared at the sun through the HOLD in the centre of the disc! Actually I think I read it over at KZBlog.
    Don’t know if I’ve sent many visitors your way, but I’ve written a short post linking to your site.

Leave a Reply

